Primary Source Material
on the Soldiers and the Battles
Home The Armies The Soldiers The Battles Civilians Articles
If this website has been useful to you, please consider making a Donation.

Your support will help keep this website free for everyone, and will allow us to do more research. Thank you for your support!

Civil War Soldiers - Denver

Denver, James W., brigadier-general, U.S. Army, was born in Winchester, Va., May 28, 1817, removed to Ohio in 1830, studied at the Cincinnati law school, in which he was graduated, and practiced law and edited a local Democratic paper in Xenia. Removing thence to Platte county, Mo., he was appointed captain of Company H, 12th U. S. infantry, in March, 1847, and served in the war with Mexico until its close, participating in the battles of Contreras, Churubusco, Molino del Rey, Chapultepec and the Garetas. In 1850 he moved to California, locating in Weaverville, and he served as state senator, secretary of state, and representative in Congress, 1855-57, where he was chairman of the committee on the Pacific railroad. He was subsequently commissioner of Indian affairs, but resigned this office to become governor of the territory of Kansas, which then included Colorado. The city of Denver was named for him. He resigned this latter office in 1858 to become again commissioner of Indian affairs, and on Aug. 14, 1861, President Lincoln appointed him brigadier-general of volunteers. He served in this capacity about two years, resigning in 1863. He was for some time in Kansas, was then ordered to report to Gen. Halleck at Pittsburg landing, Tenn., and advanced thence to Corinth, Miss., where he had command of all the railroads in that section, his force increasing to 30,000 men. After his resignation he practiced law at Washington, and at Wilmington, Ohio, where he also had a large farm. Gen. Denver died in Washington, D. C, Aug. 9, 1892.

Source: The Union Army: A History of Military Affairs in the Loyal States 1861-1865, Volume 8 Biographical, 1908

Whats New
About Us

Copyright 2010 by
A Division of